Why Learn Python?

Why Learn Python?

A few years ago, I tried learning the Python programming language. I quit after a while because I didn't even have an exact reason why I started it in the first place. Thinking back, I took to learning it because it seemed like what everyone was doing at the time; many people around me were going into learning python and I think I caught FOMO (Fear of Missing Out) hence the basis.

I believe when you have a strong Why i.e. a strong conviction to do what you're about to do, it will keep you going even when you are tired.

Last month I started out in Technical Writing and along the line I discovered I have to know the basics of some programming languages or at least the meaning of programming terms. oops.

Based on recommendation from Cynthia, the first programming language I was inspired to learn is Python. I then decided to do a proper research on Python and why I should learn it so I my learning journey wouldn't fizzle away like it happened previously.

One of the reasons why Python is a highly recommended programming language is because of its simplicity. From my research, many folks recommended Python for newbies in programming because it is easy to learn; python is simple to code.

5ffb6f8d-44d8-4f3e-8a12-eb0aa4199772.jpg

Another major reason you may consider learning python is that it’s always improving. I can testify to this because the first time I attempted to download it, the so many updates confused me and I didn’t know which to choose. So, there’s always something improved on the app which means that it only keeps getting better (and less complicated).

More so, Python is a general-purpose programming language which makes it highly versatile. Python can be used for simple and complex tasks and also is functional across different work fields. It is can be used in a variety of projects including data visualization, machine learning, mobile app development to mention a few.

One last reason I’ll give (there are still many others) for you to learn Python is that Python developers are in demand.

“According to the Developer Survey by StackOverflow, Python was one of the most in-demand technologies of 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2021. As of 2021, it is ranked as world's 2nd most popular programming among professional software developers as well as the first most wanted programming language.”

In as much as we say we’re not in it for the money and it’s all about learning and providing value to the society, you and I know that getting some cool cash for being a Python developer won’t be a bad idea. winks.

istockphoto-1168368958-612x612.jpg

How to Download the Python App on your Computer

After several days of dilly-dallying, busyness and telling my tech accountability partner, Tayo that I'd download the app tomorrow, the tomorrow eventually came today. One of the reasons it took me so long was because I got tired after navigating the download site for almost 30 minutes and didn’t know what exactly to download (Bad User Experience or little Knowledge, I'm learning). I eventually had to ask my Techie friend, Kachi for help and he just told me to google “Python MSI download” (Instead of send the file or send me a link -It's good to learn how-to) and download the latest version. Beautiful!

I got to the site and still was confused on what exactly to download, I asked him, “Kachi, I’m seeing many things to download here, which one should I pick?” He told me “download the latest version of the executable installer”. I realized that to download this, there were two options depending on if your system is a 32-bit windows or if it’s a 64-bit windows (you can go to your system settings to confirm). Since my system is a 64-bit windows, I selected that option and yup! There you go, after a series of other direct instructions, you’ll have the app installed on your system.

140130380-python-code-language-sign-with-notebook-laptop-device-programming-coding-and-developing-concept-wire.jpg

And there you are, welcome to the Programming World!